monday 08 Apirl 2024

#ComputerVideogamesMisc

So here are my thoughts on the controversy surrounding

"Why I Left Neocities" from 2023

and other numerous things the best way that I can.  

First off I will give my thoughts about somnolescent.net Neocities' "A Lack of Passion" essay

When I finished reading this essay, I thought to myself Man what an asshole lmao. It's really really harsh way to write about it. "You know what, though? Maybe he's right!"

 There are soo many inactive websites that have stopped updating for some reason or another. Sometimes, they seem to have been abandoned before completion. In such cases, I tend to copy the code and use it for my own purposes. This is a common issue with Neocities.

Too many dead sites 

Or... where's!!! the freaking blog!!! lmao..... I wanna know you lol...

 Where are all the Freaking FFXIV bloggers is it just me or the three of us in the freaking FFXIV tag category? Bro where are you!!! I wanna read more!! so on and so forth as they say lmao

Yes, that's how I react every time I check back at the FFXIV Tags category. I understand how frustrating it can be to find so few active FFXIV bloggers on here. It's disappointing when you're eager to read more content in the FFXIV category or any if there alive lol. Let's hope for more active blogs in the future.

Maybe they're busy with life lmao. 

That's why they didn't add a mini-blog yet lol lmao

Jokes aside lol

I believe everyone has the right to build a site and create something out of their leisure time. Creating content uploading up to their site. But what I don't agree with is being harsh to new users who just starting out trying to figure out what type of content they want to bring to the table. Maybe some teenagers wanted to have their little corner on the Net. Not all people are gonna cater to your liking of whatever that is. Who just wanted to be themselves. I understand where he's coming from I really wish I could delete those dead sites lmao. But sometimes you can't control the situation. But again that content has to be a good thing and not a bad thing.

TDLR lol just update your blog regularly lol

Funny enough that's how interesting or how obscure these dead sites can be. A graveyard of sites on the net. Sometimes it can lead you to other unique sites that may still be alive. 

I have read somewhere that it's best to have links so that way you aren't Shutting yourself but leading to an open door. Meaning I guess have a wave of content that you're sharing with your audience. So it doesn't feel like it's just a stop-gap.

Secondly, Instead of we need better content it's OMFG what are we gonna do!!! if this project is over. Where all we gonna go!! 

So after I read a lot of "Why I Left Neocities" and Pending DOOM of all things ending>? 

Like people say Sometimes all good things must come to an end. 

In 2023, many users wanted more from Neocities and decided to move on to create other websites, leaving Neocities behind. Some felt that Kyle Drake, the creator of Neocities, hadn't made enough changes or improvements since 2013. Some users speculated that there might be censorship on certain hot topics on their site. Since Neocities is open source, some users wondered if someone else might take over and continue its legacy. Even users from 2020 were looking to leave Neocities.

In my previous post, I mentioned that in 2024 there are two alternatives: Lexqq and Nekoweb. You can either go back to WordPress or use a VPS. I understand that learning HTML/CSS can be challenging and frustrating, but you should make an effort to learn. Give it your best shot! It doesn't have to be pretty However please make it as mobile-friendly as possible lmao. 

I am not too worried about it all but I am prepared at all times about the impending doom!!! 

Here is a list of posts

We're not prepared for the eventual fall of Neocities

koshka.love/babel/why-i-left-neocities.html

hyenatown.neocities.org 23-10-06_02-how-to-make-people-leave-neocities

soupault.app on leaving-neocities/

A very encouraging post!!!

cohost.org/nomnomnami/post/5322918-let-me-tell-you-abou

The Yesterweb and Sadgirl fiasco 

IDK why my mind wanted to find this out but I had to lol

Here is an interesting post about the gist of it 

"Beware it's a long read lol"

suboptimalism.neocities.org ON YESTERWEB

Reddit post on what happened?

what_happened_with_the_yesterweb ON REDDIT/

Sadly her website is now an archive that will never be updated but it is still here just in case you need it

 https://goblin-heart.net/sadgrl/

Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load.

I'm sad that this will never be updated and just be archive :(

So my thoughts about it... Not really much since it's pretty much new to me lol. However, her idea is interesting except you gotta read all the rules lol. It seems like a cult in the Fallout Universe "Sorry lol" She has a cool site and an awesome way for us all to make content or grab an understanding from her layout. She did say it was an idea that went way too big. She also mentions that she isn't that social as well. Hence the reason why she felt bum out about her views that went overloaded on the NeoCity site. She isn't selling anything to you except having people sites that realign with her ideas. 

And just like Suboptimal had said You can't just move on to newer content from your audience and expect them to like your new content. Or change something they may not like it since that's how they perceive you to be. People don't like change

Your customers will go look for something new or find an alternative

Just Be Careful :)

Here's the main event where I ask two important questions

to Lexi the owner of https://lexiqqq.com/

I been reading stuff from 2023 that Neocities is kinda of going to no where/DownHill? I'm not worried at all because I just started lol Some users left lol what are your thoughts about it? or How do you feel about the direction of the Neo cities service?

lexiqqq.com: I built Lexi's Hosting cause I wanted to create a place where people can experiment and have fun with dynamic content. Other platforms allow only static websites, I don't really like that. I know it's the "old web" nostalgia but things need to progress to keep them alive. As you said, all this is slowly dying. I believe letting people more free, letting them have more things to do, not limiting them to static websites, is a good way to rekindle their passion for the old web.

2. What's different? from yours and the others like Neocitites & Nekoweb.org besides the price/Disk drive space or is it just the same? 

"I just realized you have a free mailbox, webmail, virus, and spam filtering "That's Interesting"

lexiqqq.com : Neocities and Nekoweb dont offer near as much services as Lexi's Hosting do. Unlike them, on Lexi's Hosting you can use PHP and you have 3 SQL databases with the free plan. You have a mailbox, FTP, and SSH access.

And unlimited bandwidth. All this for FREE. Those are the main differences.

The common theme I have touched on is what do we want?? 

like the therapist from GTA5 lol "What do you want Michael?" lmao

It's a recurring theme that everyone wants the Net to be something in some odd way thru expression or by design. Sadly it won't cater to the blind since all these sites aren't Comptable with audio lmao. 

Thank you For Reading <3