Thursday 28 March 2024

#ComputerVideogamesMisc

I started blogging on WordPress.com in AUG 2017 and ended on Dec 20th, 2023. I did pay a 6 GB plan for the 1st year dec 2022-dec 2023. One day I just thought to myself that I needed more storage.

The Big One's

Blue Host and Dreamhost are interesting but I'm skeptical lol. Or Buy A VPS server and do it from there. The Con is you still gotta set up your https, SSL certificates, and especially buy the domain from another site since it is not all in one go.

Here is Linux Chad Luke Smith video from 3 years ago on how to build a Website using Vutlr as a VPS host. That website tutorial is called Landchad.net

I would love to go on that route but that shit is way overwhelming for me to do lol. I will try learning it someday lol

But one day I was browsingaywren psot and looked at the comments section and they mentions Neocities/HTML

I searched it up and see what it's all about.

At first HTML/CSS coding was going to be difficult for me lol thankfully after 7 days and 3 months of hardcore learning HTML code, looking at layouts, and using Sadgirl and Zonelets layouts, I finally got a simple site that I could run a simple blog all on html code. I think I am good with what I have from here on out.

I use brackets lol since it's easy and the way I can put content on it.

I usually type on LibreOffice and copy/paste it from Word to HTML.

here is hugo site stuff

I did look at Hugo's structure as quoted from their idea

"Hugo is a static site generator written in Go, optimized for speed and designed for flexibility. With its advanced templating system and fast asset pipelines, Hugo renders a complete site in seconds, often less."

Here's again another Luke Smith Video example on Hugo

Why Hugo?

Well, it can help you rearrange stuff on Taxonomy just like WordPress. meaning it will categorize your blogs with whatever topics you are talking about without manually doing it by copying and pasting it onto another page.

Hugo would eliminate most of my problems except that I don't have Arch Linux installed and I need another computer to use it lol. For some odd reason, I'm having a hard time using it on Windows 11 so I just need arch linux to try it out. However, if I can't do that either then I don't mind doing it on html code since it is easier for me to do that way lmao.

Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load.

So Why Choose Neocities?

What I care about is the Storage, Storage, Storage, Storage!!!!

But since I didn't pay for that 50GB, 1GB is still enough for me lol
Just using 7.2% (72.16 MB) out of 1 GB.

Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load.

Plus the community-based features draw me in since I am kinda of addicted to checking every random site that is updated.

But the downside as a free user is you won't get Basic Email Support compared to the other competition and Hotlinking Support.

My understanding is that Hotlinking could overload the servers but idk what that means as far as putting a YouTube video on your blog or site lol? and I don't know if it does restrict me from putting to alot of pictures lol?

There are two more similar just like Neocities

https://nekoweb.org/ and https://hosting.lexiqqq.com/

nekoweb website

Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load. Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load.

lexiqqq Hosting site or lexiqqq hompage 

Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load.

They are both the same thing but with interesting perks.

Unlike Neocities that don't have free technical support for the free users, "That's their main con lol wtf"

You can easily contact both of them through Email.

What I do like about Lexiqqq is that it has a free mailbox, webmail, virus, and spam filtering. That's freaking interesting!!!

Neocities is run by one person named Kyle Drake

Nekoweb is run by I believe multiple people.

and finally lexiqqq is by this girl named Lexi

So yeah mostly run by 1 or so people... cool right?

Concise description of lake photo for screen readers or if image fails to load.

Another way to get your words out there is to try signing up on a weblog-like service such as

bearblog.dev a web-blog site

BearBlog does have a lot of blog write-ups that are interesting to read

To summarize you can easily

  1. Sign up on WordPress to get it running. 
  2. Buy VPS and diy yourself the site 
  3. Sign up for the big indie 3 Neocity, NekoWeb, or lexiqqq
  4. For a more simple blog is bear blog.dev 
  5. Or repeat 1 or 2 mixed it with 4 lol

It is great that we have all these alternatives to thrive in. It doesn't matter where you put your content on, what matters is what type of content you are putting it in your corner of the Net. "Not that it will break TOS lmao"

Thank You for reading Part 1, I will do part 2 which will feature the owner Lexiqqq on what her thoughts about Neocitites and why she made her service.

Especially discussing my thoughts on the controversy surrounding "Why I Left Neocities" from 2023 and other numerous things the best way that I can.